Danish railroad commercials

Fighbird

Reaction score
Hi there, totally newbie here... :smile:

I've been wondering about some commercials, that have been shown on danish television for the past 2-3 years or so, featuring a very Muppet-esque character, by the name of Harry.

Naturally, he's not an official Muppet, but I read somewhere that the puppet was built and performed by a (former?) Muppeteer, and I was wondering, if someone hereabouts had the real story...

Here is a link to the commercials shown on TV, and here are some stills of the Harry character.

I know the name of the danish dub actress (yes, the character is a male, but the voice is done by a female), which is Søs Egelind. You can clearly see that the (presumably american) puppeteer isn't quite adept at syncing to the danish voicetrack, but he does a great job with it.

The character is quite popular in my country, with lots of merchandise available, and in case anybody's wondering: The commercials are for the Danish State Railways (or whatever that translates into...).

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :big_grin:

muppet_dk

Reaction score
I've brought this up before.
The guy performing Harry are called Matt Ficner.
And apperantly theres been some confusing information giving to the press in our country or the press has misunderstood the information given.
Heres what Secret Squirrel told about Matt in a thread that I started some time ago:
"Matt is a Canadian puppeteer. I believe he currently lives in Ottawa. His TV credits include Under the Umbrella Tree, The Noddy Shop, Caillou, Groundling Marsh and Tales from the Longhouse. For the Jim Henson Company, he performed in Jim Henson's Brats of the Lost Nebula. Around that time he was also involved in some live work, including playing with the Chef in Florida."

I don't know who build Harry but i think I can remember a program where some danish puppet builders talk about how Harry was created.