Foam shaping / designs

blemker

Reaction score
Hi all, I've been making puppets for a few years on and off and have had good results using One Way Street Patterns, David P video and the Grey Seal methods... I need some help though. Those three are all very different designs and I'm trying to figure out the best way to get the results I want. I know the shapes I'd like and the looks, sketched out and all but can't seem to put foam pieces together to get that look. I just want basic looks (circular head, tall head, triangle type heads) but how to cut the sheet foam... that's the question.

Do any of you have any great tips, techniques, tricks to help determine darts and foam cuts to create a good pattern which can expand to others? I like the David Pannabaker look but seems like there are so many pieces -- can that be simplified but still have the main seam down the center and not the side? I'd love to have clean mouths with different widths, shapes, etc to go along with different head shapes.

I'm not a fan of the three-piece head method because I'd like to have a pretty complete look (front and back down toward neck attachment) and have the flexibility with that.

Please help...

Thanks in advance.

Doug

DPuppets

Reaction score